To obtain a DBA (“doing business as” name) in Texas, you must file an Assumed Name Certificate with the Secretary of State or your local county clerk—depending on the type of entity you own. DBAs offer several benefits, including adding new products or brands to an existing company.

Ready to learn more about DBAs in Texas? Our comprehensive guide includes information on Texas DBA filing, required fees, and how forming your business with Lone Star Registered Agent can make the process easier.



What is a Texas DBA?

A Texas DBA (also called an Assumed Business Name or Trade Name) is any name your company conducts business under that’s not your business’s legal name. If you operate an LLC or corporation, your legal name is listed on your state formation documents. If you are a sole proprietor or general partnership, your business’s legal name will be your personal name(s).

Filing a Texas DBA can be intimidating—especially for anyone unfamiliar with the process. When you hire us to form your Texas LLC or corporation, you can easily add our Trade Name Service ($125 + state fees) inside your client account.

Why register a Texas DBA?

If you plan on doing business under a DBA, you will be required to register it with the state. Failing to register your Texas DBA could result in civil and criminal penalties. See Texas’s Business & Commerce Code Sections 71.201, 71.202, 71.203.

Here are a few more reasons why registering a Texas DBA could be beneficial to your business:

1. You want to add new products or branding

Obtaining a Texas DBA allows your business to expand its product and branding without the hassle of creating a new business entity. For example, say you sell handmade blankets under the name “Wild Weaves LLC.” However, you’d like to expand your product line into custom jewelry. Registering the Texas DBA “Whimsical Wonders” will allow you to have two distinct brands and product lines at a much lower price point. 

2. You want to maintain privacy. If you’re operating as a sole proprietor or general partnership, then the legal name of your business will be your personal name. Unfortunately, this isn’t ideal for privacy purposes. Using a Texas DBA prevents you from listing your name (or names) on social media, customer communications, or vendor orders.

3. You want to shorten or update your business name. The legal name of your LLC or corporation may be long and difficult for customers to remember. Or maybe you want to use your domain name on business cards or other customer-facing documents. Either way, registering a Texas DBA gives you a cost-effective and easy way to shorten your business’s legal name or use your domain name as your business name. Keep in mind that if you want to change the legal name of your business, you’ll need to file a Certificate of Amendment ($150) with the Texas Secretary of State.

When you hire us to form your Texas LLC or corporation, you can easily add Trade Name (DBA) Service ($125 + state fees) inside your client account. In addition, our business formation service also includes a custom domain name, email address, SSL-secure website, and phone service for no additional upfront fees.

How to get your Texas DBA

The process for getting a Texas DBA (assumed name) depends on the type of business entity you own. Formal businesses like LLCs or corporations need to file Form 503 – Assumed Name Certificate with the Texas Secretary of State. If you operate as a sole proprietor or general partnership, you’ll need to file a county-specific application with your local county clerk. However, regardless of your business type, you’ll follow the same basic steps to get a Texas DBA:

1. Choose your Texas DBA

First, you’ll want to make sure your Texas DBA is available. You can use the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts Taxable Entity Search to see if another Texas business already uses your DBA. Although registering your Texas DBA only at the state level will not prevent another business from using the same DBA, it’s important to make sure your DBA will be distinct from another Texas company.

It’s also a good idea to ensure another business has not federally trademarked your DBA. Check the US Patent and Trademark Office’s Trademark Electronic Search System (TESS) to see if your DBA has been trademarked.

Keep in mind that your Texas DBA cannot suggest a business purpose you cannot legally provide. For example, if you create handwoven blankets, your DBA should not include words such as “Medical, “Law,” or “Bank” –unless you have specific permission from the proper authority. In addition, you cannot include business identifiers such as “LLC” or “Corp” unless your business is an LLC or corporation.

2. Submit a Texas Assumed Name Certificate

The form you must submit to get a Texas DBA is called an Assumed Name Certificate—at both the state and county level. In addition, both types of forms will require the same general information:

1. DBA (Assumed Name) you want to register
2. Business’s legal name
3. Type of entity
(LLC, corporation, sole proprietor, etc.)
4. State and county where you initially formed your business
5. Business’s principal mailing address
6. Length of time you plan to use the DBA
(no more than 10 years)
7. List of counties where you’ll use the DBA
8. Date and signature of the person filing the application

LLCs and corporations must submit their Assumed Name Certificate in duplicate form to the Texas Secretary of State by mail, in person, or by fax. The filing fee is $25. You will be charged an additional 2.7% convenience fee if you pay with a credit card.

Secretary of State
PO Box 13697
Austin, Texas 78711-3697

James Earl Rudder Office Building 
1019 Brazos
Austin,  Texas 78701

(512) 463-5709

Sole proprietors and general partnerships must submit a county-specific Assumed Name Certificate with your local county clerk. Filing fees will vary by county. For example, Dallas County charges $24 and $.50 for each additional owner.

Texas DBA FAQs

How long does it take to get a Texas DBA?

State applications will take about 1-2 weeks to be processed. If you need expedited processing (1-2 business days), you can pay an additional $25.

Most county filings will take about 10 business days to process. However, some counties (such as Dallas and Briscoe) will process your application the same day when you file in person.

How long does a Texas DBA last?

Texas DBAs (at the state and county level) last for 10 years. If you want to renew your DBA, you’ll need to file a new Assumed Name Certificate with the Secretary of State or local county clerk within six months after the expiration date.

Can I cancel a Texas DBA?

Yes. If you wish to cancel your Texas DBA at the state level, you can file an Abandonment of Assumed Name Certificate and pay the $10 filing fee. County filers will need to file the appropriate form with their county clerk. Filing fees will vary. For example, Dallas charges $24 plus .$50 for each additional owner.

Is there a limit to the number of Texas DBAs I can register?

No, Texas does not limit the number of DBAs a business can register—at the state and county levels.

Do I need a separate bank account for my Texas DBA?

No, you are not legally required to have a separate business account for a DBA. However, some businesses will open a new bank account under their DBA to keep their finances organized.

Do I need a separate EIN for my Texas DBA?

No. Because a DBA is not a legal entity like an LLC or corporation, you will not need to get a new EIN for your DBA.

What’s the difference between a Texas DBA and a Texas LLC?

A Texas DBA is simply an alternate name for your business. A Texas LLC is a legal entity providing its owner liability protection in case of a lawsuit.

If you’re a sole proprietor or general partnership looking for personal asset protection, you’ll want to form a Texas LLC. After you hire us, you can add Trade Name (DBA) Service ($125 + state fees) inside your client account.